User Groups and Users

Add user groups to manage wages and settings for entire tiers of employees. Set up each user with a unique password to track their orders and shifts on the individual level.

Table of Contents

Creating User Groups

User groups help you manage wages, settings, and permissions for groups like managers, servers, cooks, bartenders, etc.

  1. Tap 'Management' and select 'User Groups'.
  2. Tap the + button to create a new user group.

    Or, select an existing one to edit.

  3. Fill in the details:

    Name | Enter a name for the User Group.
    Hourly Wage | Enter an hourly wage to track user’s wages.
    Prompt to Clock In? | When enabled, Ambur prompts users to clock in after they sign in.
    Print Hours on Clock Out? | When enabled, users in the group can print a slip after they clock out that contains their hours worked, wages earned, and credit card tips. Click for an example of this printout.
    Discounts/Fees Banned From | Select discounts/fees to prohibit the user group from applying.
    Printer Groups to Skip Printing | When this user group sends an order, tickets do not print for items in selected printer groups.
    e.g. Bartenders may not need a ticket for drinks they ring in themselves.
    Users | Add users to the group.
    Delete user group | Removes the user group from Ambur.

Creating Users

Users are the specific employees that make up each group. Make sure to add each employee who interacts with the register so they can log in.

  1. Tap 'Management' and select 'Users'.
  2. Tap the + button to create a new user.

    Or, select an existing one to edit.

  3. Fill in the details:

    Name | Enter a name for the user.
    Password | Enter a numerical password for the user.
    Order Type | optional Type of order that the user creates, e.g. Dine In, Take Out, etc.
    User Groups | The User Group(s) that the user belongs to.
    Delete user | Removes the user from Ambur.

User Group/User Permissions

Use permissions to fine tune what a group of users can do when adding or editing user groups and users.

  1. Go to 'Permissions' and choose a user group.
  2. Tap 'Source' and select 'User' or 'User Group'.
  3. Modify permissions as needed.

    Toggle whether users in the group can add or delete User Groups/Users.

    For User Groups, select ‘Hide’, ‘View’, or ‘Edit’ next to each feature.

    For User, select ‘Hide’, ‘View’, or ‘Edit’ next to each feature.

    Hide | User Group will not see the feature at the register.
    View | Ability to view but not change the feature.
    Edit | User group can make changes to the feature.