Permissions Troubleshooting

Permissions control the actions a User Group can perform and the information they can view/edit.  This guide addresses issues that may arise due to permissions that are set incorrectly.

Table of Contents

Actions & Ordering Permissions

This section focuses on problems originating from the ‘Actions & Ordering’ group of permissions.

Some order screen buttons are missing.

If permissions are disabled for order actions like ‘Coupon’, ‘Split’, or ‘Merge’, the corresponding buttons are removed from the bottom of the order screen.

Top: All buttons are visible
Bottom: 'Merge' & 'Tax Exempt' are missing
  1. In Permissions, select a User Group and choose 'Actions & Ordering'.
  2. Switch on any permissions for buttons that are missing.

    Orders – Apply Tax | The Apply Tax button that appears after tapping Tax Exempt
    Orders – Close | The Close button that closes an order
    Orders – Merge | The Merge button that enables order merging
    Orders – Print Customer Copy | The Receipt button that prints a customer receipt
    Orders – Print Kitchen Copy | The Kitchen button that prints a kitchen ticket
    Orders – Redeem Coupon | The Coupon button that allows for coupon redemption
    Orders – Split | The Split button that enables order splitting
    Orders – Tax Exempt | The Tax Exempt button that removes tax from an order
    Share | The Share button that allows you to print/email/message/view an order receipt

The 'Discounts/Fees' or 'Menu' buttons are missing from the order screen.

If certain permissions are disabled, one or both of these buttons can disappear.

Top: All buttons are visible
Bottom: Discounts and Fees buttons are missing
  1. In Permissions, select a User Group and choose 'Actions & Ordering'.
  2. Toggle on 'Discounts/Fees - Add'.

I do not want employees to be able to delete orders or line items.

Deletions are not tracked in Ambur, but Voids are. It’s easy to modify permissions to prevent users from deleting orders/items and force them to perform voids instead.

  1. In Permissions, select a User Group and choose 'Actions & Ordering'.
  2. Switch off 'Orders - Delete' and switch on 'Orders - Void'.

  3. Switch off 'Line Items - Delete' and switch on 'Line Items - Void'.

Some actions are missing from the Closed Orders screen.

Normally, actions like ‘Receipt’, ‘Share’, ‘Kitchen’, and ‘Open’ are accessed by tapping the action button on a closed order. If some of these are missing, modify permissions to get them back.

Left: All action menu options enabled
Right: Receipt & Ticket are disabled.
  1. In Permissions, select a User Group and choose 'Actions & Ordering'.
  2. Switch on the applicable permission(s).

    Orders – Print Customer Copy | The Receipt action that prints a customer copy of the receipt
    Orders – Print Kitchen Copy | The Kitchen action that prints a kitchen ticket
    Orders – Re-open | The Open action that re-opens the order
    Share | The Share action that allows you to print/email/message/view an order receipt

"You aren't permitted to perform this action..."

This error message means that action is disabled for the user. A different user with permission to perform the action can enter their code to authorize it or turn that permission back on instead.

  1. In Permissions, select a User Group and choose 'Actions & Ordering'.
  2. Switch on a particular action to allow access to it.

Other Permission Groups

This section covers issues related to any group of permissions that is not ‘Actions & Ordering’. For more information on individual groups, visit the Permissions support article.

The + button is not there, so I cannot create a new...

Adjust the appropriate ‘add’ permission to re-enable this functionality.

Applicable permission groups are: Card Reader, Coupon, Customer, Discount/Fee, Menu Category, Menu Item, Modifier, Order, Order Type, Payment Method, Printer, Printer Group, Promotion, Reservation, Shift, Tax Rate, User, & User Group.

  1. In Permissions, select a User Group and choose the relevant permission group.
  2. Toggle 'add' on.

I do not have the option to delete...

If sliding from right to left does not reveal the ‘Delete’ option, then it may be disabled in Permissions.

Applicable permission groups are: Card Reader, Coupon, Customer, Device, Discount/Fee, Menu Category, Menu Item, Modifier, Order Type, Payment Method, Printer, Printer Group, Promotion, Reservation, Shift, Tax Rate, User, & User Group.

  1. In Permissions, select a User Group and choose the relevant permission group.
  2. Toggle 'delete' on.

I cannot change the prices of my menu items.

When you can see a feature but not edit it, check your permissions to reactivate its functionality.

  1. In Permissions, select a User Group and choose 'Menu Item'.
  2. Change 'Unit Price' to 'Edit'.

    Hide | User Group will not see the feature at the register.
    View | Ability to view but not change the feature.
    Edit | User group can make changes to the feature.

I cannot add items to a printer group for ticket printing.

This happens when the ‘Menu Items’ permission for ‘Printer Group’ is set to ‘View’ or ‘Hide’.

  1. In Permissions, select a User Group and choose 'Printer Group'.
  2. Change 'Menu Items' to 'Edit'.

    Hide | User Group will not see the feature at the register.
    View | Ability to view but not change the feature.
    Edit | User group can make changes to the feature.

I cannot view the notes on my reservations.

When you cannot view a feature at all, check your permissions to reactivate its functionality.

  1. In Permissions, select a User Group and choose 'Reservation'.
  2. Change 'Notes' to 'View' or 'Edit'.

    Hide | User Group will not see the feature at the register.
    View | Ability to view but not change the feature.
    Edit | User group can make changes to the feature.

None of my orders show the date and time they were created.

This happens when the ‘Date Created’ permission for ‘Order’ is set to ‘Hide’.

  1. In Permissions, select a User Group and choose 'Order'.
  2. Tap to change 'Date Created' to 'View' or 'Edit'

    Hide | User Group will not see the feature at the register.
    View | Ability to view but not change the feature.
    Edit | User group can make changes to the feature.