Coupons

Coupons are one-time use codes for discounting a customer’s order. Create a coupon, share it with a customer, and redeem it on their order when they come in next.

Table of Contents

Create a Coupon

Ambur does not come preloaded with any coupons, so set some up through the register.

  1. Tap 'Management' and select 'Coupons'.
  2. Tap the + button.
  3. Fill in the details.

    Name | Appears on the coupon itself, receipts, and discount reporting.
    Description | Brief message that prints under the name on the coupon.
    Coupon Code | Code that’s required for customer redemption. Tap to change it.
    Expires On | The coupon no longer works after this date + time. Tap to edit.
    Percentage-Based? | If Yes, the coupon deducts a percentage. If No, a fixed dollar amount.
    Value | The actual percentage or amount of the coupon.
    Prevents Other Discounts? | If Yes, no discounts can be applied to the order after coupon is redeemed.
    Maximum Value | The highest possible amount a percentage coupon can deduct from an order.
    Discount? | Leave this set to Yes. If No, the coupon adds to an order.

Share a Coupon

Print, email, or message a coupon to give a customer the info they need to redeem it.

  1. Pick a coupon.
  2. Tap the Action button and select 'Share Coupon'.
  3. Choose how to share the coupon.

    Print it, send it in an email or message, or view it on screen.

Redeem a Coupon

Enter a coupon’s code to apply its discount to an order. The coupon is immediately removed from Ambur so it cannot be redeemed again.

  1. Pick an open order.
  2. Tap the 'Coupon' button.
  3. Enter the coupon code and tap 'Redeem'.

Coupon Permissions

Use Permissions to fine tune what a group of users can access when adding or editing coupons.

  1. Tap 'Management' and select 'Permissions'.
  2. Choose a 'User Group' and pick 'Coupon' from the menu.
  3. Modify permissions as needed.

    Toggle whether users in the group can add or delete coupons.

    Select Hide, View, or Edit next to each feature.

    Hide | User group cannot see the feature at the register.
    View | Ability to see, but not change the feature.
    Edit | User group can make changes to the feature.